Press Trust Of India (PTI) is India's premier news agency, with a reach that covers every corner of India. It employs nearly 400 journalists and 500 stringers to cover almost every city and small town in India. Collectively, our journalists put out more than 1,000 stories and 250 photographs including graphics every day to feed the appetite of the diverse subscribers, who include the mainstream media, the specialized presses, research groups, companies, and government and non-governmental organizations.

PTI correspondents are also based in leading capitals and important business and administrative centres around the world. It also has exchange arrangements with several foreign news agencies to magnify its global news footprint.

Currently, PTI commands 90 per cent of new agency market share in India.

PTI was registered in 1947 and started functioning in 1949. Today, PTI can well and truly take pride in the legacy of its work, and in its contribution towards the building of a free and fair Media in India. On its golden jubilee in 1999, President K R Narayanan said: "We got Independence in August 1947. But Independence in news and information we got only with the establishment of PTI in 1949. That is the significance of PTI..."

PTI Board of Directors

  • Mr Viveck Goenka

    Chairman, The Express Group

  • Mr N Ravi

    Vice Chairman, The Hindu

  • Mr Riyad Mathew

    Malayala Manorama

  • Mr Hormusji N Cama

    The Bombay Samachar

  • Mr Vineet Jain

    Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd.

  • Mr Mahendra Mohan Gupta

    Jagran Prakashan Ltd.

  • Mr Aveek Kumar Sarkar

    ABP Pvt. Ltd.

  • Mr Vijay Kumar Chopra

    The Hind Samachar Ltd.

  • Mr M P Veerendra Kumar

    The Mathrubhumi Printing & Publishing Co. Ltd.

  • Mr K N Shanth Kumar

    The Printers (Mysore) Pvt. Ltd.

  • Mr R Lakshmipathy


  • Mr Rajiv Verma

    HT Media Ltd.

  • Mr Jimmy F. Pochkhanawalla

    Independent Director

  • Mr Shyam Saran

    Independent Director

  • Prof. Deepak Nayyar

    Independent Director

  • Justice R.C. Lahoti

    Independent Director

The Senior Management Team

  • Mr Vijay Joshi, Editor-In-Chief
  • Mr G Sudhakar Nair, Executive Editor
  • Mr Gurinder Osan, Photo Editor
  • Nirmal Pathak, Bhasha Editor
  • Mr Venky Venkatesh, CEO
  • Mr Subodh Gupta, Chief Financial Officer
  • Mr Mohini Ranjan Mishra, Chief Administrative Officer
  • Mr Tridib Bordoloi, Chief Technology Officer